Adding/Removing Documents in Chronology

Table of Contents: 

 

Adding documents to a Chronology

Documents can be batch added to a Chronology from the results table view or individually added from the review window.

To batch add documents to a Chronology:

  • Call up a results table of documents. By default, all documents are selected, but you can choose a smaller set using the checkboxes.
  • Click on the batch coding icon in the toolbar (or press the spacebar on your keyboard) to expand the batch coding panel.
  • Scroll down until you see the 'StoryBuilder' category. Select the Chronology(ies) that you want to add the document to.
  • Once you are done making your selections, click 'apply'.
  • A dialogue will appear asking you to specify which metadata date field you want to use for the associated entry(ies) in the Chronology. In the drop-down, you can see a list of available options. The 'no date' option will leave the date field empty in the entry(ies). The 'new date...' option will let you specify a uniform date value for all the entries. Following that are all the available date metadata fields that you can choose from. Selecting one of these fields will give each document entry the associated date value for the chosen field. If one of the selected document does not have a value for the chosen field, the Chronology entry for that document will not have a date value.
  • Click 'apply' when you are done.

To individually add documents to a Chronology:

  • Click on the Chronology icon in the review window toolbar
  • Select the desired Chronology from the list of available Chronologies and Outlines
  • In the dialogue that appears, you can optionally fill in the name, date, description, and relevance fields for the document's entry in the Chronology. If there are existing notes applied to the document, you are given the option to copy the content into the description or relevance fields. At the bottom, you can apply Chronology labels to the entry. 
  • When you are done, click 'add'.

 

Removing documents from Chronology

To remove individual documents from the Chronology, hover over the document's entry. A trash can will appear in the lower right of the entry. Clicking on the icon will remove the entry and the underlying document from the Chronology. A white overlay will appear over the removed entry with the option to undo the deletion. Once you exit or refresh the Chronology by clicking the refresh icon in the toolbar, the entry will disappear completely.

You can batch remove documents using the batch tool. First, select the entries of the documents you want to delete using the checkboxes. Then, click the batch icon in the toolbar (or spacebar on your keyboard), and select 'remove documents' on the panel.

 

Determining a prefix priority list

If you have multiple produced versions of a single document on the platform, you can choose which version of the document to display in your Chronology and its associated Outlines using the production versions tool. To begin, click Settings in the toolbar and then select Version Settings.

version_settings.png

This will open the prefix priority list. The prefix priority list specifies which produced version of your documents, if available, should be displayed in StoryBuilder. Choose your prioritized prefixes from the filter bar at the bottom and use the arrows, or drag and drop the prefixes, to order them from highest to lowest priority. When you are finished prioritizing your prefixes, click Submit.

prefix_priority.gif

Now, for all documents referenced in your Chronology and its Outlines, the version with the highest prioritized prefix will be displayed.

To view the prefixes of the documents that were originally added to your Chronology (which may not match the prefixes of the displayed documents), click the Versions icon in the Chronology toolbar.

To use a concrete example, let’s imagine that document A has three different versions on the platform: #1.1, ABC123, and DEF123. Document B has three different versions on the platform, as well, but one of them is from a production that Document A was not a part of. The three versions of Document B on the platform are: #2.2, ABC456, and GHI456.

Let’s also imagine that the prefix priority list looks like this:

Priority_List.png

Based on this prefix priority list, any reference to Document A will display the DEF123 version in this Chronology and its associated Outlines. Document B does not have a DEF version on the platform, but it does have an ABC version, which is the next prefix on the prefix priority list. Therefore, any reference to Document B will display its ABC456 version. Any documents with neither DEF nor ABC versions on the platform will display the control numbered version of the document.

Click “How it works” on the prefix priority list to see a visual depiction of this tool:

Chron_how_it_works.png

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.