StoryBuilder Outlines

This video is a comprehensive overview of the Outlines feature within StoryBuilder. 

 

StoryBuilder’s Outlining tool allows you to build outlines for your case. Common use cases for Outlines include creating depositions, arguments, or case strategy outlines. You can import an existing outline into the StoryBuilder Outline tool as long as it's in the .docx format. Once in an Outline, you can use relevant evidence identified over the course of review as citations.

Creating or Opening an Outline

To create an outline, click the plus sign next to the StoryBuilder column header on the homepage. Enter the desired name for your outline in the popup menu that appears. If you have multiple Chronologies in your case, you can also select which Chronology the Outline belongs too.

To open an Outline, click on the associated card under the StoryBuilder column on the homepage. Depending on your permission level, you may be able to view outlines, view and edit outlines, or also have full sharing and deleting permissions on top of viewing and editing.

Document List

To the right in the Outline page is a list of documents identified as being relevant to a given outline. Each card corresponds to a separate document. Documents currently used in the body of the outline are colored blue, while those that are not currently used are colored gray. Click the card to see more information about the document, or to edit the name, and annotations and Chronology labels applied to the document. Any information you see here reflects the document’s status in the Chronology, and any change you make will also change the document entry's information in the Chronology.

If you want to review the content and metadata of the document itself, click the eye icon on the document card. To remove a document from use in an Outline, click the red “x” at the lower right of the document card.

Sorting and Filtering the Document List

There are a number of sorting and filtering options to help you locate the appropriate document to cite. You can sort by Bates number, date added to the outline, or document name. You can filter by whether or not the document has been used within the body of the outline, and whether or not a document has been renamed from its default Bates number name. You can also perform a text filter. Type a string into the input box at the top of the document section of the page, and the cards will filter to show only the cards that contain the string.

Writing Content in the Outline Body

To add new content to an outline, select the appropriate location and indentation level in the body to begin your work. Then, type your content. If you want to cite a document, select the desired document from the list, and drag and drop it to the appropriate place in the outline. You are prevented from double-citing a point. If a document is already associated with a point in the outline, you will be unable to drag and drop the same document to that point. Only the name of the document is displayed in the body; to see more information, click the label, and it will expand out to display more information. To remove a citation, click the red arrow that appears in the lower right of an expanded document card. Click the label again to collapse.

If an outline is very large and complex, you may want to collapse certain levels of the outline to increase readability. Hover near the level you want to collapse, and choose the collapse icon. All lower sub-levels will be collapsed.

Alternatively, you may want to concentrate on only one section of the outline. Again, hover near the level you want to isolate, and choose the “zoom” option. Now, only the selected level, and all of its sub-levels, are displayed. You can use the breadcrumb trail at the top to return to higher levels of the outline.

If you want to rename the outline, click on the existing name, type in a new name, and press enter. To favorite an outline, click the star icon by the name right above the toolbar.

If you want to comment on something in the outline, use the comment tool. Click on the point you want to comment on, and click the comment icon. A new dashed line will appear under the point, and you can add your comment there. If a comment already exists for that point, you will have to add your comment to the existing comment.

Document History

To view a full history of the document, click the history icon in the toolbar. You can see the date and time information of the previous saved versions of the outline, as well as the name of the user responsible for the saved changes.

To see what the outline looked like at a previous time, click the version you want to see. From there, you can choose to copy that version of the outline, or revert to that version. Reverting to a previous version will port the content of that version of the outline to the current version of the outline. The overwritten version will be saved in the history of the outline. Copying an outline will create a new outline with the contents of the outline version you are copying. To return to the current version, press “close”.

Exporting Outlines

There are a number options for exporting the outline. You can choose to export the outline as a word or PDF file. The cited documents will appear as live Everlaw document links. If you need an offline version of the outline and cited documents, you can choose to export the outline as a PDF with the images of the documents attached. Instead of live links back into Everlaw, the documents will be hyperlinked within the outline. Exporting the outline with images is an easy way to create a portable case file that can be carried forth into a deposition, courtroom, or meeting.  

 

Collaboration

Users can simultaneously work in an outline. The badges on the far right, above the toolbar, show you which users are currently in a given outline. The badge will have their initials, and a color corresponding to their cursor color in the outline. You can hover over a badge to see the user’s full name, or to message them. If another user is editing a node, the entire node will be highlighted with a color corresponding to their badge color. The node will not be accessible until the user is done editing, or when the user clicks away from the node.

You can invite collaborators by sharing the outline. Be default, all outlines are private to the creator, unless affirmatively shared out. If you are the creator of an outline, you can set the permission levels for those receiving your invitation. Recipients can either only view the outline, view and edit the outline, or view, edit, share, and delete the outline. If you want to see existing permissions, click that option on the sharing menu to see a list of users and their permission levels. Make sure that your recipients also have read privilege on the associated Chronology if you want them to be able to add documents to the outline.

 

 

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.