Chronology Collaboration, Sharing, and Exporting

Table of Contents: 

One of the major advantages to Chronology is that multiple users can edit, view, and contribute to a Chronology at once. This makes it easy to collaborate on work product, communicate with your team, and have a central workspace to organize your post-review documents. 

 

Sharing

In order for users to access and modify a Chronology, they must have the proper permissions. All chronologies are accessible to all users with Admin permissions on StoryBuilder. New chronologies must be created by project admins. To share a Chronology, click on the share icon in the upper right. A dialog will appear where you can choose who you want to share the Chronology with, and what permission level the recipient(s) should have (Read, Edit, or Share and Delete).

share_chron.png

Return to Table of Contents

 

Collaboration

Chronology is meant to be used collaboratively, and multiple users can simultaneously view and edit the Chronology. If there are other users in the Chronology, corresponding user badges will appear in the upper right. You can hover over a badge to see the full user name or message the user.

message_outlines.png

If a user is editing an entry, the entry will have a color border that corresponds to the color of their user badge. You can also see the user's name in the lower left of the entry. You can still edit any entry that is being modified by another user, but you might want to wait until the other user has finished. In the example below, Byron's name badge is maroon and the corresponding maroon outline indicates that he is editing the document row being viewed.  

editing_chron.png

Return to Table of Contents

 

Exporting

You can create a report of the Chronology entries using the Export option on the toolbar if you have Project Admin permissions (or export permissions if you don't have Project Admin permissions).

export_icon.png

Any documents currently displayed in your Chronology will be exported. This means if you have filters applied, only the filtered documents currently displayed will be exported.

On the export dialog, you can select the fields you want to include in your report; you can even include fields like Events or Issues. The export will be generated as a CSV that can be opened using a text editor or spreadsheet application. You can download the finished export from the homepage, under the “Batches and Exports” column.  

When you export documents in a Chronology and choose to include events as an export column, the resulting CSV will automatically group your documents with their events.

Return to Table of Contents

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.