Exporting, Suspending, and Deleting Projects and Databases

Table of Contents

Deleting databases 

Deleting a database will delete all projects, documents, work product, and any other associated information. Project admins cannot delete databases unless they also have database admin permissions or org admin permissions. 

Only users who are organization administrators or database administrators can delete databases and projects. Database and project deletions are permanent and irreversible. If you need copies of your documents and review work before closing your case on Everlaw, we recommend exporting documents and review work first before deleting. Additional information on how to export documents can be found here; information on how to export projects can be found here. Once a database or project is deleted, it cannot be retrieved. Please make sure to export and save any documents and data before any deletion. 

Organization admins

  1. Go to the Projects & Users tab on the Org Admin page.
  2. Find the database you would like to delete.
  3. Click on the three-dot menu under the "More" column.
  4. Select "Delete database." 
  5. You will see a dialog box requesting confirmation to delete the database. Click "Continue."
  6. A final confirmation dialog box will appear. Check the box confirming you have exported and downloaded your projects or do not want to export and download your projects. Do not select the "Purge all backups" option unless a court order requires it. Enter the reason for deletion and click "Delete." Everlaw Support will then go through and complete the deletion.
  7. For databases that have org admin access disabled, you will need to be added to at least one project on the database and also have database admin permissions in order to delete the database. Databases with access disabled will have the text "No OA access" next to their name. 

Database admins 

  1. In Database settings, go to the Overview page. 
  2. Click the "Delete database" button. 
  3. You will see a dialog box requesting confirmation to delete the database. Click "Continue."
  4. A final confirmation dialog box will appear. Check the box confirming you have exported and downloaded your projects or do not want to export and download your projects. Do not select the "Purge all backups" option unless a court order requires it. Enter the reason for deletion and click "Delete." Everlaw Support will then go through and complete the deletion.

 

Deleting projects 

Deleting a project will delete the project and the documents in that project. If you delete a partial project or if you have more than one complete project, deleting the project will not remove the associated documents from your database, as they will still be in the remaining complete project. Project admins cannot delete projects unless they also have database admin permissions or org admin permissions. Project admins may not be able to delete projects themselves, but they can delete all of the documents inside of a project. 

Organization administrators 

  1. Go to the Projects & Users tab on the Org Admin page. 
  2. Find the project you would like to delete. 
  3. Click on the three-dot menu under the "More" column.
  4. Select "Delete project." 
  5. You will see a dialog box requesting confirmation to delete the database. Click "Continue."
  6. A final confirmation dialog box will appear. Check the box confirming you have exported and downloaded your projects or do not want to export and download your projects. Do not select the "Purge all backups" option unless a court order requires it. Enter the reason for deletion and click "Delete." Everlaw Support will then go through and complete the deletion. 
  7. For databases that have org admin access disabled, you will need to be added to at least one project on the database and also have database admin permissions in order to delete the project. Databases with org admin access disabled will have the text "No OA access" next to their name. 

Database admins 

  1. In Database settings, go to the Overview page. 
  2. Click the "Delete database" button. 
  3. You will see a dialog box requesting confirmation to delete the database. Click "Continue."
  4. A final confirmation dialog box will appear. Check the box confirming you have exported and downloaded your projects or do not want to export and download your projects. Do not select the "Purge all backups" option unless a court order requires it. Type "DELETE" in the text box and click "Delete." Everlaw Support will then go through and complete the deletion.

 

Suspension and reactivation 

Project admins who do not have database admin permissions or org admin permissions will not be able to suspend or reactivate databases and projects. 

Organization administrators 

Similar to database deletions, org admins can suspend and reactivate both databases and projects through the Projects & Users tab on the Org Admin page. Find the database or project you would like to suspend, then click on the three-dot menu under the "More" column. From here you will have the option to either suspend or reactivate the project or database. 

For databases that have org admin access disabled, you will need to be added to at least one project on the database and also have database admin permissions in order to suspend or reactivate projects and databases. Databases with org admin access disabled will have the text "No OA access" next to their name. 

Database administrators 

Similar to database deletions, database admins can suspend and reactivate both databases and projects through the Database Settings page. Next to the database status, click the gray button to "Suspend database" or "Reactivate database." Projects can be suspended from this page in the three-dot menu under the "Actions" column. 

 

Exporting projects 

On Everlaw, there is no database-level export. However, there are project exports. If you would like to export a database, you can do so by exporting the individual projects that make up the database. Project admins who do not have org admin or database admin permissions can still export all the documents in a project through the results table. For more information on how to do this type of export, please read the help article here

Organization administrators. 

Similar to database deletions, org admins can export projects through the Projects & Users tab on the Org Admin page. Find the project you would like to export, then click on the three-dot menu under the "More" column. Select "Export project" in the menu. 

For databases that have org admin access disabled, you will need to be added to at least one project on the database and also have database admin permissions in order to export projects in said database. Databases with org admin access disabled will have the text "No OA access" next to their name. 

 

Database administrators 

Similar to database deletions, database admins can export projects through the Database Settings page. Under "Database projects," find the project you would like to export. Click the three-dot menu under the "Actions" column and select "Export Project."

 

Permissions recap

For a recap of the information covered in this article, please refer to the permissions table below.

Permissions level  Deleting projects Deleting databases Suspending or reactivating projects and databases 

Exporting projects 

*For a fee, Everlaw can also create exports for you

Project admin Cannot delete projects. Can delete documents.  Cannot delete databases.  Cannot suspend or reactivate projects or databases.  Cannot export projects. Can export documents. 
Database admin  Can delete projects in a database from the Database Settings page.  Can delete databases you are a database admin on from the Database Settings page.  Can suspend and reactivate projects and databases from the Database Settings page.  Can export projects in a database from the Database Settings page. 

Org admin 

*if a database has org admin access disabled, you must be added to a project on the database and also have database admin permissions 

Can delete projects in a database from the Projects & Users Org Admin page or Database Settings page.  Can delete databases from the Projects & Users Org Admin page or Database Settings page.  Can suspend and reactivate projects and databases from the Projects & Users Org Admin page or Database Settings page.  Can export projects in a database from the Projects & Users Org Admin page or Database Settings page. 
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.