Production Modification Tools

Table of Contents

With Everlaw’s production modification tools, you can re-run a production from the production card if changes have been made to the documents (such as changing a document’s privilege status) or the configuration. This article will discuss how to do each in turn.

 

Clawbacks and "unprivileging" documents

You can claw back documents that were initially produced but need to be removed from the production due to their privilege status (though please note that the following instructions also apply for including documents that were originally withheld for privilege). To perform a clawback, first make sure that the documents have successfully had their coding changed to match the criteria for privileged documents in the production protocol. For example, code privileged documents as “Privileged.” You can find the privilege settings for a given production by clicking on the three dot menu in the upper right hand side, selecting “View/Edit Configuration” and navigating to the header that says “Privileged.”

view_configuration.gif_IMAGE_1.gif

To change the privilege coding, locate the pre-production documents that correspond to the produced documents you would like to claw back. An easy way to do this is to search for the original documents in the production: simply include the “Produced” search term, select the relevant production, and then check “Original Documents.” That will pull up a search of all original documents and you can adjust the coding on the documents that had their privilege status incorrectly indicated at the time of the first production.

 

Another way to find the pre-production versions of produced documents is to open the three-dot menu and select “View Source Documents.” Finally, you can open the produced documents and then group them by version.

group_by_version.gif_IMAGE_3.gif

After you have correctly coded the documents to match the privilege settings, return to the productions page and locate the card for the production you would like to re-run. Once you have found it, click on the menu with the three dots on the upper right side and select “Modify Production.” Then, you can choose to claw back the documents that have been marked as privileged since the last production or to unprivilege the documents that are no longer privileged. You must give the modified production a name and then you can run the re-production.

clawback.gif

For information on viewing production history, packaging production modifications, and downloading them, please consult the section at the end of this article.

 

Return to table of contents

Re-running productions for arbitrary collections of documents

You can also re-run productions after changing the production configuration and then apply these changes to arbitrary sets of documents, as long as those documents were included in the original production. Please note that there is no way to run a production modification that includes documents that were not initially included.

One potential use case of this functionality is changing the production configuration to produce natives for a document type you did not before, and then re-running the production for only those documents. That way, it will generate a replacement zip file for the receiving party containing only the newly produced natives. As another example, you could decide that you now wanted the production done in PDF instead of TIFF and could re-run the production for all of the documents in the original production set.

If you would like to only alter the metadata fields, you can check the box reading “Metadata Overlay Only.” Note that if you select this option, you will only be able to download a revised loadfile in the production history section, not the entire set of documents. You will still be able to download the complete set via packaging and downloading the overall production.

To begin, click on the three dot menu in the upper right. Then, click "View/Edit Configuration and click on the pencil icon. This will take you to a new screen, allowing you to edit the configuration.

editconfiguration.gif

Once you make changes to the configuration, save the configuration. You can then produce the documents with the changes by going to the three dot menu, selecting “Modify Production” and choosing the option that lets you produce an arbitrary set. This option will open a search and you can specify the set of documents. If you would like to produce the entire set with the changes to the configuration, search for the production you are modifying and select “Original Documents.” The number that indicates how many documents match the search should match the number of produced documents. Click save, name the modified production, and then click the button that says “Modify # docs.”

arbitraryset.gif

 

Return to table of contents

Downloading productions and viewing production history

Unlike running a production for the first time, when running a production modification, the button that usually allows you to download the production instead says “Package.” The “Package” button creates one complete zip file with the entire production, reflecting the most recent changes. If you would like to download the modifications alone, the changed elements are available for download below under “Show Production History.” From this menu, you can download or send out the files that were adjusted without having to re-send and re-zip the entire produced set, which can be time consuming.

production_history.gif

From the production history display, you can also see the configuration associated with each version of a production as well as the description of that modification. If you did not select “Modify Metadata Only,” you can also download the privilege log, generate shareable links to the modified files, and download loadfiles only. If you did select “Modify Metadata Only,” you are limited to downloading metadata modifications (see below).

metadata_overlay_only.png

If you elected to produce an arbitrary set of documents, you have the option to download a revisions overlay. A revisions overlay creates blank columns for metadata fields that are no longer present in your configuration and produces fields that have been added since the document was last produced. This way, it can be overlaid to modify the production and create correct metadata values for the receiving party. Note that if you produce a field with no values, it will show up in the revisions overlay even if you haven’t added/removed it. If you did select “Metadata Overlay Only,” you have an option to “Download Metadata Overlay,” which will provide all metadata fields (but not load paths to aid in the uploading of native or text files) for the modified documents, regardless of whether you have adjusted the metadata fields present in the modified production.

download_menus.png

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.