Suspension and Exporting Options

Table of Contents

Once the decision is made that you no longer need active and ongoing access to your Everlaw project and its documents, there are a few options for what to do next.

Suspend the case on Everlaw

This option involves archiving your project on the Everlaw platform in a suspended state, and thereby keeping all documents, review data, and user analytics in place and accessible should the need arise to reopen the project.  Given that this requires continuously storing all case data in the cloud, there are associated charges. Please review your contract or reach out to our Customer Success team to better understand suspension costs.  

The advantage to this method is immediate and complete access to your archived project, when needed.  Turning the case back to active status is easy and takes just a few minutes, with no data lost in the process and no need to export any data.

Return to Table of Contents

Everlaw managed export for self (or third-party) storage   

Everlaw can also provide a complete and managed export of all project data for storage by the user. This managed export incurs a one-time fee equivalent to the amount charged for the final full month of storage, plus shipping and handling in the even physical media is requested.

Should you wish to reupload this data to Everlaw a future date, you will need to create a new case.  Re-uploaded data will not retain any document audit trails, case histories, or analytics.  

This provides a full set of documents and review data that can be reused as needed without an ongoing outlay for storage, but you must make your own reliable storage arrangements.

Return to Table of Contents

User managed export for self-storage

You can manage your own data export without incurring any financial charge using the built in exporting tools on the Everlaw platform. We recommend that you do this before deleting data from the platform.

Data can be exported and downloaded into any formats that can be exported from Everlaw, listed here. Specifically, you can conduct a full project export which includes load files and review work. You can read more in this help article. Note that if you are planning to export your data, you can access it in the form of a card under Batches & Exports on the homepage, but the card will expire after 28 days.

Return to Table of Contents

Delete all documents and data

The default option upon case closing is to simply destroy all data and associated review work from our cloud-based servers.  This ensures all sensitive client data is expunged from the platform. Even if you choose an exporting or archival option discussed below, case data will be fully deleted once those actions are complete.  This action is irrevocable, so you should be sure that you will never need to recover project data and its review work. If you think there's a chance you might need to recover the work, you can always conduct a project export first

Return to Table of Contents

 

Need help deciding which option is right for you?  Please reach out to support@everlaw.com to discuss these options in more detail.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.