Projects

 

Table of contents

A project belongs to a database, which is where all of your uploaded data will be stored for a particular conceptual matter. The database represents the aggregate of the data for that particular matter that you will be billed for. Work on Everlaw begins by creating and naming a database, which is then the umbrella source for one or more projects.  

Each new database automatically includes one accompanying complete project. Projects are the user-facing environment where review work takes place. Complete projects contain all documents in a database, and partial projects can contain all or a subset of the documents in your database. You can create more than one project per database, and each one is treated as a separate matter. Any user with Database Administration permissions can create new partial projects (some or all documents in the database). Organization Administrators can create complete projects (all documents in the database).

Projects make it very easy to create a separate environment for an outside expert reviewer, without redoing a bunch of work in your database. A reviewer can go into their project and perform review on some or all documents in your database, without ever seeing the review product on documents in the other projects. In essence, projects include "clean" versions of your documents that do not contain any of the review or work product accumulated in other projects during the course of review. Everlaw supports unlimited project creation from an underlying database at no extra charge.

When creating a project, you can choose to create one entirely from scratch, or by using an existing project as a template.

 

 

Creating a new project

To create a new project, navigate to the Projects tab in the Database Settings page. Click on the "Add a New Project" button in the upper right. You will be prompted to enter a name for your new project. You can choose to copy settings and users from an existing project, or create from scratch by clicking Add or pressing enter.

database_settings.png

To rename a project click the pencil icon and input a new name. To delete a project click the trash can icon. To export the project, including image, text, native files, load files, and review work, click the Export icon under Actions. For more information on project exporting, see this help article

Screen_Shot_2019-01-11_at_8.19.54_PM.png

If you have Organization Administration permissions, you can click the multiple documents icon to the new project name to add all documents from the database to that project. This will start a batch task and create a complete project. The type column tells you whether or not the project contains all the documents (complete), or just a subset (partial). 

For a complete project, all documents that are added to the database will automatically be uploaded to the project. This means you will not see the name of the complete project in the export tab of the results table as a possible destination, as the project will already contain all of the documents available in the database.

Return to table of contents

 

Using a template to create a new project

When creating a new project you have the option to use an existing project as a template. In order to use a project as a template, you must have project and database administrator permissions on the existing project.

Only certain configuration settings and objects will be copied from the existing project. You can view those in the image below. You also have the option to copy users from the existing project. When copying users all project and database permissions will be copied to the new project.

Project_Template.png

These objects will not be included in your project template:

  • Homepage objects including binders, homepage folders, Outlines, Chronologies, assignment groups and assignments, or batch tasks
  • Anything that depends on an excluded object or setting (ie - if your protocol includes a privilege rule defined by a binder, the protocol will not be copied over)
  • Searches
  • Project messages
  • Analytics
  • Productions and uploads

Once created, you can modify settings, users and their permissions, and objects to your liking in the new project.

Return to table of contents

 

Adding documents to your partial project

By default, projects contain no documents. You can create a partial project at any time and add documents to it. If you are a Project Administrator, you will, by default, have access to add documents to that partial project. The Partial Project Document Management permission, which will only exist on partial projects, controls the ability to add documents to, or remove documents from, the partial project. For other user groups that do not include this permission by default, you can assign it to a group by navigating to the Permissions tab in Project Settings.  

ppdm.png

Unless you are adding all of the documents in a database to a project (and are therefore creating a complete project with the help of your Everlaw support), follow these steps to add documents to a partial project.

  • Go to any results table, whether it be associated with a search, binder, assignment or StoryBuilder. Select the documents you wish to add to a project.
  • By default, all of the documents in a results table are selected. You can select only a subset of the documents by utilizing the checkboxes in the far left column.
  • Choose the Batch option and select Add to Project.

Screen_Shot_2018-09-18_at_11.43.41_AM.png

  • Choose the project you want to add/remove the documents to/from, and then press "Modify Project".  

Screen_Shot_2018-09-18_at_11.45.39_AM.png

If you would like to add additional documents to the project which were not included in the original search, you may continue to perform searches and add documents from the results table to the same project.

You can navigate between projects by clicking on the project name on the top left corner of the screen and typing in the desired project name. Alternatively, you can click on the caret icon next to the project name and select your project from the dropdown menu. 

Once in the project, you can administer it (add users and user groups, set up categories and codes, etc.) via Project Settings. You should also see the documents from your first project in your second project homepage. Remember that no review work is transferred, so even though the documents are copied from the first project, they are blank slates and will not include ratings, codes, notes, highlights, redactions, etc.

  Return to table of contents

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.