Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA)

Table of contents

What is multi-factor authentication (MFA)?

Multi-factor authentication increases the security of your account by requiring a second method for logging in, such as access your email or mobile device. Rather than just entering a password, you are also required to verify your log in via this second method. This can prevent unauthorized access to your account by individuals who may steal or guess your password.

When multi-factor authentication is turned on and a user tries to log in, they will receive a message that looks like the below:

Screen_Shot_2019-07-09_at_11.31.23_AM.png

Upon seeing this dialog box, the authentication code is emailed immediately to the email address associated with your account. You can then enter the authentication code to log into Everlaw. The code is valid for ten minutes after it is sent. If needed, you can click the “Email a new code” link on the login page to send a new authentication code to your email.

MFA at a project level

If you're a Project Administrator, you can choose whether or not to enable multi-factor authentication for a project. This requires all users on the project to go through the additional authentication step when they log out and back in. To enable multi-factor authentication project-wide, navigate to the General tab in Project Settings. Within Multi-factor Authentication, click the toggle to enable it. If the toggle is green, then multi-factor authentication is turned on. 

mfa.gif

MFA at a user level

You can edit your user security settings by clicking your designated first name in the top right of the screen. To require two-factor authentication for your account on the project, check the "Require Two-Factor Authentication" box. Note that these settings are at the user level only. Project administrators can set multi-factor authentication rules for the overall project. These rules will override those you set at the user level. 

If you check the "Remember this computer" box on the log in screen, Everlaw will remember your computer or tablet for thirty days. During these thirty days, you will not need to re-authenticate when logging in with the same device. This does not apply if you disable cookies, clear your browser history, or use a different browser. 

As an alternative to email authentication, you can add an authentication device, like a smartphone or tablet. To add an authentication device, click the green plus icon by the authentication device option in the user profile page. A screen will pop up displaying instructions on how to use a mobile authenticator app to scan the QR code. You can use any QR code reader to scan the QR code in the dialog box. If you would like to remove your device, click on the “Delete this device” icon. If you don’t have your device when logging in, you can click the “Email a new code” link on the login page to send an authentication code to your email.

On the user profile page you can also see a list of trusted sessions. You can use this to audit when and where your account was accessed. You can delete your history of trusted sessions by clicking the trashcan icon next to the "trusted sessions" header.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.