Organization Admin: Organization and Project Administration

This article covers organization admin functionalities, which are available to certain users with contracts covering unlimited database creation. 

 Table of Contents

Return to table of contents

Creating organization admins

Only organization administrators within the organization can grant organization administrator access to other Everlaw users. This is the highest level of permissions a user can have on Everlaw. You can make a user in your organization an organizational administrator on the projects and users tab. To see the users in your organization, click on the “organization members” button in the upper right. This will show all members of the organization, not just users associated with a particular project. It will not show any users that are not members of your organization, even if they are on projects owned by your organization. Then, once you have identified the user whose access you would like to modify, click Member in the box to the right of their name. You will be asked if you would like to make them an organizational administrator. If they are already an organizational administrator, you can click on their label to remove it.

Screen_Shot_2019-02-19_at_9.45.07_AM.png

OA Access: This setting controls permissions for Organization Administrators on a given database. Since this is a database-level access, changing access for one project will necessarily change the access for the other projects in that database. Only Organization Administrators with Database Admin permissions can change this setting, which affects all projects within that database.

With the toggle set to Yes, Organization Administrators will have the following privileges: 

  1. Administrative access to databases on the Organization Admin page (e.g., rename databases, manage processed uploads)
  2. Administrative access to projects on the Organization Admin page (e.g., suspend/delete projects, export projects, view Tasks, view user uploads)
  3. Special privileges on projects that only organization administrators have (e.g., assigning Bates to an arbitrary set of documents, administer project binders, configure deduplication settings)

oa_access.png

However, if the OA Access permission has been set to No for a given database, organization admins will no longer have automatic access to the database and its projects. In order to administer the database and its projects from the Organization Admin page (#1 and #2 above), as well as maintain organization admin-level access to the projects themselves (#3 above), organization admins must be:

  1. Added to at least one project in the database (with any project permissions); and
  2. Granted the Database Admin permission on the database.

If an organization admin is added to a project but is not granted the Database Admin permission, their project permissions will be derived solely from the user group(s) they have been added to. They will not be able to administer the database or any of its projects from the Organization Admin page.

Please note that all organization admins are be able to see the sizes of all of the organization’s projects from the Organization Admin page, regardless of OA Access settings.

MFA: This stands for "multifactor authentication." You can also turn multi-factor authentication on or off for a given project.

Return to table of contents

Exporting organization users

Exporting all users currently on projects owned by your organization

You can export a list of your organization’s members, their email addresses, and their associated projects from the Projects & Users tab on the Organization Admin page. To export a CSV of all users currently on projects owned by your organization, click the export button next to Projects on the Projects & Users tab. This will export a list of all users currently on projects owned by your organization, along with their email addresses and any projects they are on that are owned by your organization.

Screen_Shot_2018-09-06_at_12.02.56_PM.png

Exporting all users in your organization

To export a list of all users in your organization, leave all projects unselected under Projects and click the export button next to Organization Members. This will export a list of all users in your organization, regardless of whether they are currently on a project within your organization, along with their email addresses and any projects they are on that are owned by your organization.

Screen_Shot_2018-09-07_at_4.37.36_PM.png

Exporting all users on a specific project owned by your organization

To export a list of all users on a specific project owned by your organization, select the project under Projects, and then click the export button on the right side of the page. This will export a list of all users on the selected project, regardless of whether they are in your organization or not, along with their email addresses and any projects they are on that are owned by your organization.

Screen_Shot_2018-09-06_at_5.12.56_PM.png

Return to table of contents

Renaming a Database

With OA access on the database, you can rename databases from the Projects & Users tab on the Organization Admin page. Locate the database you'd like to rename, click the three-dot menu icon under the More column, and click "Rename database." The new name will propagate to all associated projects.

Screen_Shot_2019-01-11_at_8.52.24_PM.png

Return to table of contents

Exporting a Project

With OA access on the database, you can export projects from the Projects & Users tab. If you do not have OA access on the database, you must be a Database Administrator as well. Find the project you'd like to export, then click the three-dot menu icon under the More column and click Export.

Screen_Shot_2019-01-11_at_8.52.49_PM.png

To export a project, including its load file and work product, see this article for more information. 

Return to table of contents

Suspending a Project

There are a number of options for projects where active and ongoing access is no longer necessary. See our help article for more information about the different options.

Suspending a project on Everlaw can be a good option if you may need to reopen or gain access to your database in the future. If you choose to suspend your project, Everlaw will keep all documents, review data, and user analytics in place and immediately accessible.

Project suspension comes with a one-time fee equivalent to the full one-month storage amount, as well as any accrued monthly charges prorated to the time of suspension. After one year of suspended storage, the bill will transition to a monthly charge that costs 10% of the one-month storage amount.

Organization administrators can suspend projects from the Projects & Users tab on the Organization Administrator page. Under Projects, find the name of the project you would like to suspend. Under the More column, click the three-dot menu icon, and then click the trash can icon. Note that there is no confirmation box when suspending a project.

Screen_Shot_2019-01-11_at_8.55.13_PM.png

To unsuspend your project, you must contact Everlaw support at support@everlaw.com. 

Return to table of contents

Requesting project deletion

There are a number of options for handling your project on Everlaw once you no longer need active and ongoing access to it. Read our support article for information on all of your options.

To submit a project deletion request, navigate to the Projects & Users tab on the Organization Admin page and select the project you would like to delete. Under More, click the three-dot menu icon, and then click the trash can icon.

Screen_Shot_2019-01-11_at_8.55.51_PM.png

You will then be presented with a confirmation dialog box. In order to request that your project be deleted, enter the reason for your project deletion and then click Request Deletion.

explain_why.png

You will also see an option to “Request immediate deletion (including all backups!).” This option should only be selected if you need to immediately and completely expunge all data and backups from the platform. There is no way to get back any data that have been deleted via this option.

Deleting the main project will not automatically delete its associated projects. You will need to request deletion for all associated projects following the above steps.

Once you have submitted your deletion request, Everlaw will need to confirm the request. Once Everlaw has confirmed your request, you will receive a notification of the deletion confirmation and your project will be deleted from Everlaw.

Return to table of contents

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.