Disable and Enable Project Access

Partial projects on Everlaw allow you to organize subsets of documents and workstreams within a larger case. Each partial project can have different users, different documents, and different review work applied. 

Sometimes, the workstream related to a partial project is paused. To prevent users from applying any additional review work in that project, while keeping the rest of the projects within the database enabled, you can disable project access.

In this article we'll cover how to disable a project and how to enable it again once you're ready for reviewers to regain access.

Note

Disabling a partial project does not affect your billing, since all the data remains active in the database's complete project. To reduce your billing, you must suspend or archive the entire database:

Requirements

Required permissions: Organization Admin or Database Admin + Project Admin

  • Database Admins can disable project access for individual projects that they are the Project Admin of
  • If OA access is disabled for a database, an Organization Admin can disable access to a project within it if they also have the following two permissions:
    • Database Admin permissions on the database they plan to suspend
    • Be a user on at least one project within the database
  • Project Admins who do not have Database Admin permissions or Organization Admin permissions can't disable or enable projects

Admin actions allowed when a project is disabled

There are a few actions that an admin (with the permissions described above) can take while a project is disabled:

  • Export projects
  • Delete the  project
  • Organization Admin: Convert to a complete project

Disable a project

You can restrict access to a project by disabling it. This doesn't impact your billing rates, but instead allows you to restrict access to documents and review work in that project without losing any data. Disabling a project instantly restricts access for all users in the project.

To diable a project:

  1. Database Admins: Go to Project Management > Database Settings.
    Organization Admins: Go to Organization home > Projects & Users tab.
  2. Find the project you would like to suspend. Select the three-dot menu, then Disable project access
    disable project access oa.png
    This opens a dialog to confirm.
  3. Select Disable access to confirm disabling the project. The project is immediately disabled and users will no longer be able to access it. An ACCESS DISABLED tag is added to it.

    Note

    You cannot disable a complete project if it's the only active complete project in the database. Instead, you'll need to suspend the whole database.

Enable a project

When you're ready to get users back into a project, you can enable access. This immediately restores the project to its active status and allows users to access it again. To enable a project:

  1. Database Admins: Go to Project Management > Database Settings.
    Organization Admins: Go to Organization home > Projects & Users tab.
  2. For the project you plan to reactivate, select the three-dot menu, then Enable project access.
    enable project access.png
    This opens a dialog to confirm the enablement.
  3. Select Enable access. This immediately re-enables access to the project.