Please note that Everlaw staff do not directly grant users access to projects for security reasons. If you are a user seeking to be added to a project, please contact a project administrator.
Table of Contents
- Adding Users
- User Table
- How do I remove users without losing their data?
- What notifications are sent when a user is removed from a project?
To add users, navigate to the Users tab in Project Settings.
Click the "+ Add Users" button in the upper right. This will prompt a dialog that asks you to enter the emails of the users whom you wish to invite to Everlaw. Enter one email per line. Then, select the permissions you'd like for the users to have on this project. If you are a Database Administrator, you can also grant database permissions. All users listed will be added to the same groups, if entering via the input box and not CSV.
You can also add users by uploading a CSV containing their user information. If importing by CSV, you can specify different user groups per user. Click “Select file” and upload your CSV. You can download a template of a properly formatted CSV by clicking “Download CSV template.”
Your uploaded CSV should have these four columns, separated by commas:
- User Groups (with multiple groups separated by semicolons)
- First Name (optional)
- Last Name (optional)
- Database Permissions (Admin, Upload, and/or Delete)
- Note: if you do not want the user to have database permissions, you must leave this cell blank. Any terms entered that are not listed above will result in an error.
Once you have entered the users’ email addresses or uploaded your CSV, click Add Users. If everything is properly formatted, you will be asked to confirm the users to be added.
Confirmation dialog for multiple users added manually.
Confirmation dialog for users imported via CSV.
Finally, a dialog will show you which users were added to the project. If any users already existed on the project, they will be listed, as well.
If the user already has an account with Everlaw, they will automatically be added to the project and sent an email notification. If the user does not have an account, you will see a new entry in the "Pending Invitations" table at the bottom of the page. An email will be sent to the new user with a link to set up their account. The invitation is valid for 30 days, and can be renewed if it expires.
You may add as many users as you want at no additional cost. For more information on users permissions, please consult our larger article on Users and Groups.
The users table provides a list of all the users in the project, as well as the group(s) the user belongs to. To remove a user from the project, click the "X" icon next to their name. To alter a user's group, click the gear icon. Select the groups for that user, then hit the "Enter" key on your keyboard. To remove a user from a particular group, click the gear icon, then click the "x" associated with the group label for the user.
Users can be in multiple groups. In that case, their permissions in the project are determined by the most permissive permission level allowed among all the groups they are part of. For example, one group may be given permission to code documents and another does not; if a user is in both groups, they will be able to code documents in the project.
How do I remove users without losing their data?
To remove a user, click the "X" icon next to their name.
You, or others on your team, may still need access to the deleted user’s binders, drafts and other creations. You can choose whether ownership of the the removed user’s objects will be shared with other users when they are removed from the project. If you are a project admin, when you click the "X" icon, a dialog box will appear. This will allow you to preserve ownership of these objects by sharing them with other users on the project.
Objects and review work (such as notes, codes, and redactions) created by the user will be retained, regardless of your choice to share. Any users with existing access to this user's objects will retain access.
If you do not want to share ownership of this user's objects, select "Do not share this user's objects with other users before removing,” click the Next button, and confirm the removal by selecting the red button that says “Remove user only.” A toast notification for the removal and a new task card on the Home Page will appear.
Select the groups and/or users from the dropdown menu who you would like to share ownership with. Then, select the objects you would like to share. When you have completed your selections, click the blue button that says “Transfer & remove user.”
You can transfer the following review work:
- Assignment groups
- Prediction models
- Search term reports
Note that in ECA projects, only binders are available to be shared.
You can choose to transfer to individual user accounts or to user groups. For example, you can share work with only the “Reviewers” group. While all reviewers will receive the objects, no users in the “Administrator” group will. On the next step, you can choose whether to respect users’ project level permissions when sharing these objects or to override and share objects to users regardless of their current project permissions.
If there are objects to be shared from the removed user that conflict with current project level permissions, any users or groups and the permissions that they are lacking will be shown in the dialog.
For example, if a user does not have access to Prediction models, if the option “Share all objects with selected recipients anyway” is selected, only the prediction models owned by the removed user will be shared to the recipients. Other prediction models will continue to be inaccessible to the user based on their project permission levels.
If “Only share objects that selected recipients have permission to receive” is selected, each user/group will only receive permission to objects that they can already receive. If the objects are shared with both the “Reviewers” and “Administrators” groups, and Reviewers have “None“ permissions and Administrators have “Admin” permissions on prediction models in Project Settings, prediction models will only be shared with members of the Administrators group and not with the Reviewers group.
Any data received by a removed user will be represented as cards on the homepage. Note that homepage folders cannot be preserved upon transfer. Cards transferred upon removal of a user will appear in the "Shared with me" view. The initials in the bottom right hand corner represent the user from who the data was transferred, not the user who transferred the data.
If you remove a user from a project, review window layouts created by that user remain and are ownerless, but are still accessible to anyone they were previously shared with. Project admins can view and delete these layouts. If a user is removed directly from an organization, layouts ‘owned’ by that user remain and are ownerless. To learn more about removing users from an organization, view the Organization Admin dashboard article.
If you decide to add the user that you removed, their objects (including homepage folders) and ownership over them will be restored.
What notifications are sent when a user is removed from a project or user group?
If a project administrator removes a user from any user group via the project settings page, they will be sent an email notification informing them that their permissions have changed. When a user is removed from a project entirely, they will be notified that they have been removed from all user groups of which they were previously a member. If the objects owned by a user are shared with any other users, each recipient will receive a notification providing the name of the removed user, the name of the project, and a summary of any objects shared. These notifications cannot be disabled.