Table of Contents
- What is a database?
- Database permissions on Everlaw
- Database administration: projects
- Database administration: delete databases
- Database administration: upload notifications
What is a Database?
On Everlaw, your database is the central storage location for all documents in your matter. When you upload documents to Everlaw, they go into your database. Your database contains the clean versions of all of your uploaded documents, which are then made available for review in projects. If a document gets deleted, it is removed from all projects and deleted from the entire database. When you delete documents, their original, clean versions are completely gone from your matter and you must re-upload them in order to get them back.
Due to the relationship between databases and projects on Everlaw, actions taken on a database affect all projects in the database, while actions taken within projects generally only affect the individual project they occured in. For this reason, the actions and responsibilities of database administrators differ from those of project administrators, both in nature and in the scope of their ramifications. For a high-level overview of the difference between database and project admins, please see this help article.
The present article will discuss database admins and their role in managing databases on Everlaw, with a specific focus on database permissions. Project creation and management, which is another capability of database admins, is discussed in detail in this help article.
Database permissions on Everlaw
Database permissions grant individual users the ability to perform actions that affect all projects in a database. They can also download native container files. There are three database permissions on Everlaw:
- Upload: View, create, edit, and manage native uploads; submit documents to be uploaded as processed data; reprocess documents using Reprocess from the Batch icon. Users must also have the Partial Project Document Management permission to upload documents to partial projects.
- Delete: Delete documents using Delete from the Batch icon; delete native uploads from the Uploads Page (requires Upload permissions).
- Database Admin: Create new partial projects; rename, export, and delete individual partial projects (requires Project Admin permissions on the project); delete the entire database; grant and revoke database permissions for any user in the database; configure upload notifications; view all users in the database.
Any user on a database can be granted database permissions. However, all database permissions, including Database Admin, must be granted by a database admin.
If you are a database admin, you can grant database permissions by going to the Project Management menu in the top right corner of your screen and choosing Database Settings.
Then, click “Add user.” This will display a list of all users on the database. Once you select a user, you have the option of giving them Upload, Delete, or Database Admin permissions. Please note that if you grant the Database Admin permission to a user, they will automatically receive both upload and delete permissions, as well.
When a user is removed from all projects in a database, they become an inactive user. This means that they previously had database permissions, but they no longer have access to any projects in the database.
Inactive users are not able to perform any actions on the database or its projects, but if they are re-added to a project in the database, they will automatically receive their database permissions again. To remove all database permissions from an inactive user, click Remove to the right of their name in the "Inactive users" list. If they are re-added to a project in the database, they will not have any database permissions until the permissions are explicitly granted again.
Note: Organization admins who have database admin permissions will maintain their database admin permissions, even if they become "inactive users." For more information on OA access, please read this article.
Database administration: projects
As a database admin, you can also create new projects. To do so, navigate to the projects tab on the left side of the database settings page.
On this tab, you can see all projects in the database that you are a member of. If you are a project admin on any of the projects, you can rename, export, and delete them, as well. For more information about creating and administering new projects, please see our help article.
Database administration: delete databases
Database administrators can also delete the database they are an admin of. To do so, navigate to database settings. Additionally, if this icon is grayed out, you may not have database admin permissions.
Within the database settings page, click on the projects tab on the left. On the upper right, next to the green button to add a new project, will be a red button to delete the entire database.
Deleting the database will delete all projects in the database, including projects you may not be a project administrator of. As a reminder, being a database admin does not automatically grant project administrator permissions. For this reason, there are a few confirmation steps that must be taken to go through with deleting a database.
If you are not a project admin of every project within the database you are trying to delete, the following pop-up will appear. If you would like to continue with the deletion of the database, check the acknowledgements box at the bottom and click continue.
Once you click continue, an additional confirmation pop-up will appear. If you would like to go forward with the database deletion, click continue.
One final confirmation box will appear. This last step in deleting a database requires entering a reason for deletion; one example could be for billing purposes. Additionally, you will also see an option to “Purge all backups immediately.” This option should only be selected if you need to immediately and completely expunge all data and backups from the platform, as requested by a court order. We do not recommend selecting this option unless you have to.
To complete the deletion of the database, click the delete button on the bottom right. This sends a request to Everlaw to immediately delete the database, and none of your documents and review work can be recovered at this time! There is no way to reverse this action and recover data that have been deleted.
Database administration: upload notifications
Database administrators can also configure upload notifications for any projects that they are added to in the database. To learn more about upload permissions, please see this help article.