Database and Project Permissions: Overview

 

Table of Contents

The ability to specify access to tools and work product is crucial to secure and efficient review. On Everlaw, admins can use fine-grained permission settings to precisely grant users access to what they need to do their jobs well.

Return to table of contents

Databases and projects on Everlaw

There are two main types of permissions on Everlaw: database permissions and project permissions. To understand the difference between database and projects permissions, let’s first review the difference between databases and projects on Everlaw. When you upload documents to Everlaw, they go into your database, where the clean versions of all of your uploaded documents are stored. When you are performing review, however, your documents may get organized, annotated, and coded by your team. This all happens within projects. Everlaw pulls the clean documents from your database and puts a version of those documents in projects for your review. If you create multiple projects for different review teams, Everlaw pulls the original, clean documents from the database and makes them available for review in your individual projects. Finally, when you delete documents, they are removed from all projects and deleted from the entire database. When you delete documents, their original, clean versions are completely gone from your matter.

Return to table of contents

Database permissions

Uploading and deleting documents affects which documents are in your matter’s database. For this reason, Upload and Delete permissions are categorized as Database Permissions. In addition to Upload and Delete permissions, there is a third database permission called Database Admin. Users with the Database Admin permission can grant any user on the database Upload, Delete, and Database Admin permissions. Database admins can also create and delete projects within the database. Please read this help article for more information about database administration.

Return to table of contents

Project permissions

While database permissions allow users to change your entire database, project permissions grant access to features and tools within individual projects. These tools include codes, assignment groups, and predictive coding models. Generally, actions made permissible by project permissions do not affect other projects in the database. For example, codes applied to documents in one project will only appear in that project. Project permissions are granted by project admins from the Project Settings page. Please see our help article on configuring project permissions for more information.

In general, database and project permissions do not interact with each other. A user may be able to upload and delete documents from the database, but they may have access to very few tools within their projects. On the other hand, a user may have project admin permissions on a project, meaning they can use and administer all features and tools within it, but they may not be able to upload or delete documents from the full database.

Return to table of contents

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.