Documents, binders, searches, folders, assignments, Predictive coding models, and StoryBuilder chronologies and outlines can all be shared in Everlaw. All sent and received objects will generate a message in the message center for you and the recipients. All objects shared with you can be accessed from the “Shared with me” folder or the shared folder on your homepage.
Table of Contents
Accessing the Share Dialog
Objects like searches, binders, outlines, etc. are represented via elements called "cards" on your homepage. Cards can be shared via the three-dot menu icon. Click on the icon, and select "share" to open a message dialog with the card attached. If you do not have access to the three-dot menu icon or the share option, it is because you do not have proper permissions to modify or share the object.
You can also share any object you are looking at if you see the "share" icon somewhere in the toolbar or screen.
Once you select the “Share”, a dialog with several options will appear.
Here, you can select who will receive the object. Only users with permissions to receive the object you are sharing will appear in the drop down list. You can share with individual users, groups, organizations, or all users. Sharing with specific users gives those users access to the object. Sharing with a group, organization, or all users will give all members of those entities access to the object, even if they are added to the group, organization, or project in the future. When sharing folders, users without receive permissions will still be able to access the folder but will be unable to see the objects. To learn more about overall permission categories that a user may or may not have access to, read this article on user groups and project permissions.
In addition, you can add an optional message to provide your recipients with more information about the object you are sharing. The message will be available in your messaging centers for later reference.
Depending on what you are sharing, you can also grant different levels of permission to the recipients. For example, if you are sharing a binder, you can choose to let your recipients only view the documents in the binder, add and/or remove documents from the binder with the edit permission, or have full share and delete permissions.
If you are sharing a folder, you will be able to specify your recipients’ permission levels on both the folder itself as well as the objects it contains. To be able to share a folder, you must have creator or “share and delete” permissions on all folder contents. You will not be able to share folders that contain objects that you only have viewing and/or editing permissions on.
If you have share and delete permissions on an object, you can modify permissions from the three-dot icon. Just click the "View/Edit existing permissions" option in the menu that appears. Users that have permission to an object through admin access will not appear in this dialog.
If you have share and delete permissions on an object, you can revoke other users’ existing permissions on that object. This can be done by clicking “View/Edit existing permissions” and clicking the red X by that user’s name in the menu. You can revoke permissions for any user except yourself and the owner of the object.
By users and groups (project administrators only)
Project administrators can view and remove permissions by individual user and group. Under Project Settings you can navigate to the Users tab and click the Perms icon next to any user to see their individual access. Then navigate to the Object Permissions tab.
In the Groups tab you can use the three-dot menu icon to open “Object Permissions.”
Once in the Object Permissions Window you can see all objects that an entity has explicit permissions access to. You will not see any objects that an entity has access to through folders or admin access to objects.. You can remove these permissions by clicking the “x” next to any object or remove permissions to all objects in a section by clicking “Revoke all”. Keep in mind that access to Outlines require access to the parent Chronology so you must remove access to the Outlines before you can remove the Chronology.