Database Administration and Permissions

 

Table of Contents

Return to table of contents

What is a Database?

On Everlaw, your database is the central storage location for all documents in your matter. When you upload documents to Everlaw, they go into your database. Your database contains the clean versions of all of your uploaded documents, which are then made available for review in projects. If a document gets deleted, it is removed from all projects and deleted from the entire database. When you delete documents, their original, clean versions are completely gone from your matter and you must re-upload them in order to get them back.

Due to the relationship between databases and projects on Everlaw, actions taken on a database affect all projects in the database, while actions taken within projects generally only affect the individual project they occured in. For this reason, the actions and responsibilities of database administrators differ from those of project administrators, both in nature and in the scope of their ramifications. For a high-level overview of the difference between database and project admins, please see this help article.

The present article will discuss database admins and their role in managing databases on Everlaw, with a specific focus on database permissions. Project creation and management, which is another capability of database admins, is discussed in detail in this help article. 

Return to table of contents

Database permissions on Everlaw

Database permissions grant individual users the ability to perform actions that affect all projects in a database. They can also download native container files. There are three database permissions on Everlaw:

Any user on a database can be granted database permissions. However, all database permissions, including Database Admin, must be granted by a database admin.

If you are a database admin, you can grant database permissions by going to the Project Navigation menu in the top right corner of your screen and choosing Database Settings.  

 Screen_Shot_2019-01-11_at_6.44.14_PM.png

Then, click “Add user.” This will display a list of all users on the database. Once you select a user, you have the option of giving them Upload, Delete, or Database Admin permissions. Please note that if you grant the Database Admin permission to a user, they will automatically receive both upload and delete permissions, as well.

create_new_db_perm_user.gif

When a user is removed from all projects in a database, they become an inactive user. This means that they previously had database permissions, but they no longer have access to any projects in the database.

Screen_Shot_2019-03-06_at_11.14.36_AM.png

Inactive users are not able to perform any actions on the database or its projects, but if they are re-added to a project in the database, they will automatically receive their database permissions again. To remove all database permissions from an inactive user, click Remove to the right of their name in the "Inactive users" list. If they are re-added to a project in the database, they will not have any database permissions until the permissions are explicitly granted again.

Note: Organization admins who have database admin permissions will maintain their database admin permissions, even if they become "inactive users." For more information on OA access, please read this article.

Return to table of contents

Database administration: projects

As a database admin, you can also create new projects. To do so, navigate to the projects tab on the left side of the database settings page.

 Screen_Shot_2019-01-11_at_6.47.35_PM.png

On this tab, you can see all projects in the database that you are a member of. If you are a project admin on any of the projects, you can rename, export, and delete them, as well. For more information about creating and administering new projects, please see our help article.

Screen_Shot_2019-01-11_at_6.48.30_PM.png 

Return to table of contents

Database administration: upload notifications

Database administrators can also configure upload notifications for any projects that they are added to in the database. To learn more about upload permissions, please see this help article

Return to table of contents

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.