Table of Contents
- What are user groups and organizations?
- How do I edit permissions for user groups?
- Permission setting options for rating, codes, notes, and user fields
- How do I add users?
- User table
- How do I remove users without losing their data?
You can access the users and groups settings by clicking on the admin icon in the toolbar and selecting 'case settings'.
What are user groups and organizations?
User groups allow administrators to control the actions of certain subsets of users. You can control your reviewers' permissions to rate, code, write notes, redact documents, update metadata, and perform batch actions. You can also designate which user groups will have administrative privileges. To access the user group settings, click "group" under the "users and groups" header in the case settings navigation bar.
The user groups table displays the names of the current user groups in the project, as well as the modifiable permission settings. The "Administrators" and "Reviewers" user groups are included by default on all projects in Everlaw.
To set the permissions associated with a user group, select any combination of permissions in the appropriate row. If you want to rename a group, click the pencil icon. To add a new group, click the "Add a new Group" button in the upper right. To delete a group, click the trashcan icon. Note: If you delete a group, the users in that group will be removed from the project unless they are in another group.
To learn about organizations, click here.
How do I edit permissions for user groups?
If you deselect a check box in a row corresponding to a user group, all users in that group will be unable to perform the action. For example, if "Batch Update" is deselected, users will not be able to perform batch actions on any set of documents. If only "View Case" is selected, users in this group will not be able to edit any of the documents in any way; however, they will be able to see all annotations to the documents along with the documents themselves.
Giving a user group the "case admin" permission will cause all users in that group to be considered case admins for the purpose of analytics. Case admins are also able to access the case settings page, the analytics page, and create search term reports.
At times, you may want to control which groups have access to your documents during a given time frame. A group of users might not be ready for review, or they might have just finished up. You may want to keep these individuals as users in the project, but not allow them to see documents. In these cases, you can use the "view case" permission setting to control whether or not groups of users can view documents in the project.
Permission Setting Options for Rating, Codes, Notes, and User Fields:
View - Individuals in the user group will only be allowed to see the ratings, codes, notes, and field values
Edit/Create - Individuals in the user group can see, apply, and change codes, ratings, notes, and user field values
None - Individuals in the user group can not see or edit ratings, codes, notes, or user fields
How do I add users?
Administrators can add users without contacting Everlaw. Navigate to the "users" page under the "users and groups" category.
Click the "Add a new User" button in the upper right. Enter a user's username (if you know it) or email address and select their user group. If the user already has an account with Everlaw, they will automatically be added to the project and sent an email notification. If the user does not have an account, a pop up will appear; enter their information and click "Create User". You will see a new entry in the "Pending Invitations" table at the bottom of the page. An email will be sent to the new user with a link to set up their account. Select the user's group from the drop down menu.
Invitations are valid for 30 days. If the invitation expires, it can be resent by clicking the "Resend invitation" icon.
You may add as many users as you want at no additional cost.
The users table provides a list of all the users in the project, as well as the group(s) the user belongs to. To remove a user from the project, click the trash can icon next to their name. To alter a user's group, click the gear icon. Select the groups for that user, then hit the "Enter" key on your keyboard. To remove a user from a particular group, click the gear icon, then click the "x" associated with the group label for the user.
Users can be in multiple groups. In that case, their permission for any given category is determined by the most permissive permission level allowed among all the groups they are part of. For example, one group may be given permission to code documents and another does not; if a user is in both groups, they will be able to code documents in the project.
How do I remove users, without losing their data?
To remove a user, click the trashcan icon next to their name.
You, or others on your team, may still need access to the deleted user’s binders, outlines and other creations. If you are an admin, you can preserve a user’s data when removing the user from a project. When you click the trashcan icon, a dialogue box will appear, which will allow you to preserve the data by sharing it with other users on the project.
Select the groups and/or users from the dropdown menu who you would like to share the data with. Then, select the data you would like to share. When you have completed your selections, click the blue button that says “Transfer & remove user.”
If you do not want to share and preserve any data, do not select any users or data to share. Scroll to the bottom of the dialogue box and select the red button that says “Remove user only.” A dialogue box will appear, asking you to confirm that you only want to remove the user without transferring any data.